Author Topic: Re: Characteristics of the upper E. TN style rifle  (Read 33346 times)

chuck c.

Re: Characteristics of the upper E. TN style rifle
« on: June 10, 2010, 06:07:39 AM »
I hope this doesn't sound like a dumb question, but since we have some of the best experts on this subject gathered up here, I'm going to ask. What are the main characteristics that the trained and educated eye looks for when they say, "That's a fine looking example of a Tennessee rifle"? Being the untrained beginner that I am when I built my rifle I studied Ken's, Ian's, Lawing's and Borron's work and tried to incorporate the things I liked the most (leaning heavily on wanting it to look like a Lawing) about their work into my rifle. Is there like a "check list" of characteristics that you should make sure you incorporate in your work to ensure that that your rifle will have the experts saying, "He nailed it!". If I had these things straight in my mind before the build it sure would help. Ian's already given me very good advice by telling me to handle as many originals as possible, but for a lot of reasons this is pretty hard for me to do. Any advice from you fellows would be appreciated. I hope this doesn't stray too far from the topic.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2010, 02:54:38 PM by Ken Guy »

Offline Ken G

• F & AM #758
Re: Development of the upper E. TN style rifle
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2010, 04:54:15 AM »
Chuck,
Sorry to be slow answering but I've been traveling most of this week. I'll take a partial stab at your question.  I hope others and especially Guy will chime in.  Guy does a real good job with his written descriptions of E. TN traits and has helped me a lot over the years.
Ken

"I'm going to ask. What are the main characteristics that the trained and educated eye looks for when they say, "