Author Topic: Virginia Style Rifle Questions  (Read 3772 times)

Offline grabenkater

Virginia Style Rifle Questions
« on: January 21, 2011, 06:02:29 PM »
Would a Jaeger style buttplate and triggerguard be incorrect for an early Virginia style rifle?

When a nation forgets her skill in war, when her religion becomes a mockery, when the whole nation becomes a nation of money-grabbers, then the wild tribes, the barbarians drive in... Who will our invaders be? From whence will they come?

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
Re: Virginia Style Rifle Questions
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2011, 06:35:46 PM »
Would be ok for a restocked gun.What do you consider "early"?
NEW WEBSITE! www.mikebrooksflintlocks.com
Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin'?

Offline Longknife

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2011, 07:37:15 PM »
Now I am NOT an expert on these "Early Virgina" rifles but it is my understanding that the "southern" guns followed the "English" style.,,, Right???...Ed
Ed Hamberg

Offline G-Man

• Member 3
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2011, 07:42:25 PM »
Like Mike said.  The Faber rifle has hardware that looks like it could have come off of a Jaeger and a fowling piece.  Also, there is a smooth rifle in RCA I that is now attributed to one of the Haymakers, that has very Germanic looking hardware.