Author Topic: Ballistol, mea culpa...  (Read 12578 times)

Offline t.caster

Ballistol, mea culpa...
« on: January 26, 2011, 08:40:20 PM »
In recent post I disparaged the use of Ballistol for cleaning and maintenance of BP rifles, saying it led to rapid build up of rust in the bore. My apologies to Ballistol, as I just found out my friend was using Klenzoil (sp) all along. My bad.
Anyone else have experience with K-zoil?
I gave him a sample of RIG to use from now on between shoots, because it has always worked good for me on all the rifles I have built. For oils on lock & triggers I use FP-10 or 3in1 or now Lucas Oil has a gun oil out that seems to work nice too. The list goes on...
Tom C.

VAshooter

Re: Ballistol, mea culpa...
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2011, 11:33:15 PM »
I have been using Ballistol for a few years now and I like it.

I started with using it in my Shiloh Sharps black powder 45/70 rifle. I mix it with water and us it as a swab and as a cleaner while shooting and when I've finished shooting a couple patches with the water/ballistol mix to clean the barrel, a dry patch and then straight Ballistol to protect the bore and I'm done.

Works good in a muzzle loader to. I'm one of those guy's that never got over them taking sperm oil off the market but I'm happy with Ballistol.

I've found it works well to clean out corrosive salts from Garands and Springfields and such. I use it straight in those dark bores you see so often in military rifles. The more you use it the cleaner they get.

VAshooter

Offline wvmtnman

« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2011, 03:13:24 AM »
I too love Ballistol as a cleaning agent.  I mix 1 part Ballistol to 3 parts water.  Wet a patch with the mixture and clean. It cuts the residue and becasue of the oil, rust has never been an issue for me.  For long term storage, after the bore is dried, I spray a little WD40 on a patch and swab. 
                                                                        Brian

B. Lakatos

Daryl