Author Topic: Rotary Burr for Crowning Muzzle  (Read 8465 times)

Greenmusket

Rotary Burr for Crowning Muzzle
« on: March 02, 2011, 03:45:52 AM »
I need to cut and crown a barrel for a Kentucky Pistol and was wondering what rotary burr you all suggest for crowning the muzzle of a .45 caliber barrel?

Ravenwolf

Re: Rotary Burr for Crowning Muzzle
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2011, 03:59:49 AM »
Hello, I would try to use a good sharp chamfer tool, I use rotary burrs when we have a hog-mawl job in the shop, wanting to remove alot of material fast. You will get alot of chatter with the rotary tool also, best to cut slow and steady to make a nicer job. Best to you and yours; Ravenwolf;

Greenmusket

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2011, 04:19:44 AM »
Ravenwolf, I appreciate the advice. I'm still new to this. Would you mind recommending a chamfering tool and size that would work? Thanks.

Offline pathfinder

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2011, 07:47:09 AM »
I use a rotery stone @ 3/4" dia thats kinda pointy at the end. Not a professional description,but that's what I use. I get them at the auto supply store.go slow and use lot of oil!
Not all baby turtles make to the sea!  Darwinism. It’s works!

Scott Semmel

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2011, 03:27:33 PM »
I use a round or cone stone with 1/4 shank for a drill, in a brace or eggbeater drill go slow and keep it centered, really isn't a lot to crowning other than care that it is uniform. After the stone some 220 or finer emory on your thumb to polish.

Greenmusket

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2011, 03:29:32 PM »
Thanks Pathfinder. I'll look for one.

Offline Jim Kibler

• Personal Website
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2011, 05:19:39 PM »
If you choose to use a rotary bur or countersink, yo may find it  beneficial to bevel off each land with a file prior to running the tool.  Starting with a surface such as this will sometimes help if your tool has a tendency to chatter.  I have found mounted stones to be a good tool for muzzle crowning as well.