Author Topic: thinking outside the horn,,,,?????  (Read 11164 times)

omark

thinking outside the horn,,,,?????
« on: October 24, 2008, 09:47:20 PM »
the other day i was thinking about jamming a cone into a soft horn. it seems like the physics of this act could lead to some unnecessary splits. so i took a piece of 1/2" ply wood and scribed a circle of the approximate size of the horn base. then i tilted my bandsaw table to 10 degrees and cut into the edge of the circle, then cut the circle out. in my mind, this allows for a little bit of spring tension when the horn is inserted and due to the outside tension, it shouldnt crack horns. tried it a couple of times and seems to work. but i am very new at boiling and rounding horns. please let me know if anyone else has thought of / used this idea and what you think of it.    mark

Offline Randy Hedden

• member 2
  • American Mountain Men #1393
Re: thinking outside the horn,,,,?????
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2008, 10:27:30 PM »
I don't see the difference between using a forming cone and using the 1/2" thick piece of plywood. If a horn is going to split it usually starts to split at the butt end. In that case the 1/2" long former can split the horn as easily as using a longer forming cone. I believe, in many cases, you might find that using a 1/2" former might result in the last half inch of the butt end of the horn bulging out from the natural profile of the rest of the horn.

Randy Hedden

www.harddogrifles.com
American Mountain Men #1393

omark

« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2008, 12:53:50 AM »
randy, meant to put the board on the horn, around it, which would cause a compression of the fibres instead of a cone inside that would expand it.

Offline Randy Hedden

• member 2
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2008, 04:00:07 AM »