Author Topic: Beginner Bag Building Questions  (Read 8237 times)

NSBrown

Beginner Bag Building Questions
« on: October 30, 2008, 10:30:54 PM »
I am new to bag making and would appreciate advice from you experienced builders.

I need a source for leather. I have browsed the Internet, but find a wide range of prices and no way to assess quality. Recommendations?

I plan to build two or three bags initially...how much leather should I order?

I have read that I should begin with 3 to 4 oz. vegetable-tanned leather... Is that good advice?

I have a good piece of elk hide...but it is heavier than 4 oz. and very pliable when compared to the vegetable-tanned leather I have handled. It seems to me that it wouldn't hold a bag's shape very well. Is it inappropriate for a shooting bag?

NSBrown

Re: Beginner Bag Building Questions
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2008, 10:35:13 PM »
I just noticed Wally's Elk bag down the board and his bag answers my last question beautifully.

Wally, any advice to someone considering building a bag out of elk hide?

Offline Randy Hedden

• member 2
  • American Mountain Men #1393
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2008, 01:08:47 AM »
I need a source for leather. I have browsed the Internet, but find a wide range of prices and no way to assess quality. Recommendations?

You can get good veg tanned from Tandy and Seigel of California. I buy most of my leather from Kentucky  Leather and hide, www.kentuckyleatherandhide.com

I have read that I should begin with 3 to 4 oz. vegetable-tanned leather... Is that good advice?

Many leather workers, including myself, use 3-4oz veg tanned or oak tanned. I also like and use 2-3oz for some bags. I like the thinner leather for smaller bags.

I have a good piece of elk hide...but it is heavier than 4 oz. and very pliable when compared to the vegetable-tanned leather I have handled. It seems to me that it wouldn't hold a bag's shape very well. Is it inappropriate for a shooting bag?