Author Topic: RCA # 63 - A. Verner  (Read 31791 times)

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
RCA # 63 - A. Verner
« on: June 25, 2011, 01:35:23 AM »
Ever since I started studying and building muzzle loading rifles, the Andrew Verner rifle depicted in Rifles of Colonial America Volumn 1, and other texts, has been one of my favourites.  I have owned the parts to build this rifle three times...the first lot, I sold on a weak moment;  the second, I built the rifle and then sold it (twice).  This is the third effort, and this one I'm keeping.  I'll sight it in tomorrow, and shoot it in our annual rendezvous coming up in a week.
I was careful to document all aspects of the rifle, and though I departed from Verner's masterpiece in several respects, such as barrel length and bore, for the most part I have tried hard to get it right.  I have had three primary reference works on my bench throughout the build, and paid attention to the details that define this rifle.
My rifle has a John Getz .50 cal rifled barrel 48" long.  It is 1" at the breech, and is swamped.  The stock is Western Maple stained with ferric nitrate dissolved in water.  The finish is varnish.  It weighs 7 pounds 14 oz. and balances in the hand at the entry pipe.  LOP is 13 1/2".

I'm looking forward to shooting it tomorrow.

D. Taylor Sapergia
www.sapergia.blogspot.com

Art is not an object.  It is the excitement inspired by the object.

welafong1

Re: RCA # 63 - A. Verner
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2011, 01:57:24 AM »
very nice how long did it take you to do the carveing and inlaying ?
thank you
Richard Westerfie3ld

• Member 3
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2011, 02:32:03 AM »
Doing the drawings, making the inlays, inletting them into the wood, engraving and doing the incised carving, is what this rifle is all about.  I did not keep track of time:  but if building the rifle = "x", then the rest of it is likely "4x".  Does that make sense?
D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2011, 02:48:47 AM »