Author Topic: Pecatonica River Hawkin Halfstock  (Read 9591 times)

Jumpy

Pecatonica River Hawkin Halfstock
« on: July 31, 2011, 04:30:23 PM »
Have just about decided on this as my next build but with some reservations. I want to build a good representation of this wonderful rifle. Has anyone built this Hawkin from Pecatonica's components or have first hand knowledge? There are large holes in my Hawkin knowledge bank so wade in with all openions please.

Rasch Chronicles

Re: Pecatonica River Hawkin Halfstock
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2011, 05:58:09 PM »
Jumpy,

You might want to check out Don Stith's selection too. Among the many rifles I would eventually like is the Lewis and Clark expedition 1803 model rifle. Don's is far more correct (from caliber to actual dimensions) than the other offerings I have seen.

Albert

wetzel

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2011, 08:07:31 PM »
Jumpy,
I'm far from an expert on the Hawken rifle, but would second what Albert said.  Most would agree that Don Stith is the leading authority on the hawken.  His kits are similarly priced but are based on actual hawken rifles.  You could buy a blueprint from Don or others carry them as well and then piece it together as close as you could.  I attended a seminar put on by Don a few years ago at Dixon's and it seems that most Hawken's had a tapered barrel.  A tapered barrel really does add to the balance of the rifle.  When you add wood to the price from Pecatonica River you are at the same price as a rifle from Don.

Daryl

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2011, 08:26:23 PM »
After having shot Taylor's latest .62 Hawken, I'd say that the closer to the originals they get, the better they most certainly become.

I suggest something under .58 for that hooked butt plate - like a .50 or .54.  .54 is a good size - low recoil and powerful enough for most anything NA has to offer. Too, it's large enough to give good long range accuracy, should the need or desire occur.

Jumpy