Author Topic: Aqua Fortis  (Read 4124 times)

Offline Eric Smith

Aqua Fortis
« on: January 04, 2012, 07:15:20 PM »
Where can Aqua Fortis be found for staining a stock? I am new to this. I'm starting my first build this month.   :)
Eric Smith

eddillon

Re: Aqua Fortis
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 07:49:33 PM »
Welcome to the greatest learning forum.  Here is a link for Aqua Fortis:
http://muzzleloaderbuilderssupply.com/cgi-bin/mbscart/agora.cgi?product=Gun-Finishes
I just used some on a Wm Henry, Jr. Nazareth pistol with fantastic results.

The color is dark but that is my preference
« Last Edit: January 04, 2012, 07:53:45 PM by eddillon »

Offline Dr. Tim-Boone

• Global Moderator
  • I Like this hat!!
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2012, 07:53:48 PM »
My preference is to use the modern output of creating Aquafortis.  It is Ferric Nitrate ctystals that you can disolve in either distilled water or Denatured alcohol. It is easy to get  and will last a loooong time:

http://secure.sciencecompany.com/Ferric-Nitrate-100g-P6384C670.aspx

See an example here :
http://americanlongrifles.org/forum/index.php?topic=19799.0
« Last Edit: January 04, 2012, 07:55:05 PM by Dr. Tim-Boone »
De Oppresso Liber
Marietta, GA

Liberty is the only thing you cannot have unless you are willing to give it to others. – William Allen White

Learning is not compulsory...........neither is survival! - W. Edwards Deming

Offline Eric Smith

« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2012, 07:54:11 PM »
Thanks for the info. :)
Eric Smith

Offline David R. Pennington

« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2012, 01:53:38 AM »