Author Topic: M&G Locks  (Read 7442 times)

Offline A.Merrill

M&G Locks
« on: September 21, 2011, 12:15:53 PM »
    While at Friendship this past weekend I bought a stock an barrel from Tip Curtis.
    I was looking at his locks and Tip came over, opened a case and showed me a lock made by M&G. It looked to be as long as a small Siler but not as wide, the internal parts were smaller than a small Silers, easy to bring to full cock and the sear returned to the same position thru the cycle and VERY smooth. I asked Tip if it thru a lot of sparks, he took a gun down from the wall cocked it and let me trip the lock, plenty of sparks and a lite pull on the single trigger. It is called M&G classic and they come in small an large.
    I had planed on buying a small Siler, but this lock is sweet. The only thing is I have no experience with these locks other than this.
    Have any of you used these locks or know anybody that has???    AL
Alan K. Merrill

Offline Bart

Re: M&G Locks
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2011, 12:24:21 PM »
Hi, I believe the M&G Lock is a new item that RE Davis Lock Company is selling, you can go to their website and see it. You also can call the owner Tim Tressel and talk with him, he is a nice guy and he markets some really nice looking locks. I have not yet used a Davis lock but I have heard they work just fine.

Bart

oldiemkr

« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2011, 03:59:55 PM »
I beleive M&G is Larry Zornes Mold and Gun shop in southern Ohio. I've got one of those locks around here somewhere but I have not used it.

I saw a post somewhere that some early ones had some problems but the problems seemed to have been worked out.

Larry has some nice furniture castings taken from some early guns. I suppose he makes and assembles the locks too but I can't confirm that. i'm sure he could fill you in with a call.

Birddog6

« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2011, 04:29:07 PM »