Author Topic: How to determine the correct size ball for unmarked comtemporary flintlock....  (Read 16000 times)

sirdutch

Hello,

I'm still new to this sight and have only recently bought a contemporary flintlock. I'm not sure where on this forum to ask a question on what size ball to use with  my muzzle loader. My rifle is not marked as to caliber. A 44 cal ball ( that I use with a 1860 Army Colt ) that measures .451 just fits in the bore with almost no pressure with my finger. As I need to use a lubed patch when loading, how much smaller of a ball should I use? Should the ball it be loose enough to roll down the barrel if I insert it without a patch? I know it's a dumb question that only a green horn would ask but I want to use the right size ball. I'm looking forward to using a flintlock for the first time.

Any help or direction to the appropriate spot on this forum would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Sirdutch

P.S. If you search under sirdutch you will see my pics on the rifle. Any comments would be appreciated. Great site by the way. I hope to join up with the Big Horn Mountain Men of Orange County, California and go on a rendezvous myself in the future. I can't wait.

roundball

Any help............would be appreciated.

Ideally, measuring the bore diameter from land-to-land using a dial caliper is the way I'd go.
And if you don't have one, once you buy one you'll find you'll use it for other things like checking the thickness of patch material, checking the diameter variance that may exist in a batch of round balls, etc.

My "guess" is you have a .45cal, and one good rule of thumb as a starting point is to use a .010" under bore size ball (.440") with an .018" patch...(patch material compresses)...and you can later tweak ball and patch from there if you want to as you get deeper into the hobby and experiment with things.  
« Last Edit: October 07, 2011, 03:42:24 PM by roundball »

BrownBear