Author Topic: Suggestions For My First Build?  (Read 9164 times)

ChrisHarris

Suggestions For My First Build?
« on: January 16, 2012, 12:20:36 AM »
I want to learn the art of gun building.  I was thinking about a Traditions Trapper pistol for my first one.  I realize these are essentially an assembly, more than a build.  But is there anything useful that I would learn during that assembly that would carry forward to the next project?

I'm pretty handy with tools.  I am very mechanically minded.  Studied mechanical engineering in school (never graduated) and I currently work as a mechanical estimator for a piping contractor.  I rebuild my own car engines and do all my own wrenching on power tools, vehicles etc..  I've been building balsa and plywood model airplanes (radio control) for about 15yrs.  I'm familiar with some minor wood working and fabrication of various metal parts and linkages.

Just never built a gun.

I'd like to build a Jaeger style .54 percussion for myself, but thats a major project for down the road.  I don't even know where to start.  No idea what kind of lock or triggers to buy.  No idea how to inlet a lock.  Gotta learn somewhere.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2012, 12:22:10 AM by ChrisHarris »

Offline Larry Luck

• Administrator
  • Larry Luck
Re: Suggestions For My First Build?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2012, 01:02:24 AM »
Chris,

Welcome to ALR.

Since you asked the question about suggestions, I'll give you my perspective.

My first build was a Connecticut Valley Arms .45 cal flintlock that I built in college.  A good friend from PA had built a brass-barrelled flintlock pistol in his high school shop class that I thought was the neatest thing I'd seen.  (Back in the day when a pound of black powder in a dorm room did not result in federal time.)  So I bought the kit and built it.  I keep it in the shop as an object lesson.