Author Topic: J.M. Caswell Rifle  (Read 9526 times)

Offline aaronc

J.M. Caswell Rifle
« on: February 20, 2012, 02:35:29 AM »
I have a rifle here that belongs to a friend of mine. Just been trying to find out some info on it. I do know that Lansingburgh is now Troy NY and that this maker seemed to be pretty well established and have seen threads where other supposed well known makers apprenticed under him. I'm new to the Long Rifles so aside from that I really don't know much else about it. I think it's a nice looking piece and hope you guys enjoy looking at it. Any info on the maker or gun itself is welcome.

"J.M. CASWELL   LANSINGBURGH" - stamped on top of barrel.

"R.S. CLARK  EXTRA" - stamped on the lock.

« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 04:49:22 AM by aaronc »
- Aaron C
At the work bench.

Offline aaronc

Re: J.M. Caswell Rifle
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2012, 02:38:48 AM »

- Aaron C
At the work bench.

Offline Levi Garrett

• Starting Member
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2012, 04:41:26 AM »
I'm sorry, I can't help with any info. I do thank you for sharing it and I too think it is a nice rifle. What prompted me to reply was the double cheek pieces, both right and left. It seems to be an unusual feature and I would be interested in knowing how common this is? Thanks, Randy

Offline nord

« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2012, 07:39:59 PM »
The Muzzle Loading Cap Lock Rifle - Ned Roberts

Page 198 - Nelson Lewis

Nelson Lewis is listed as a former market hunter who was taken under the wing of J.M. Caswell as an apprentice. He subsequently started his own business in 1843 which more or less sets a time frame for Caswell.

Caswell is noted for having made rifles and smoothbore arms for the militia. This at the time when militia members were required to furnish their own firearms.