Author Topic: Flintlock regulations for hunting deer  (Read 18742 times)

Offline acorn20

Flintlock regulations for hunting deer
« on: December 29, 2008, 07:24:07 PM »
I've been hunting with muzzleloaders since 1973; the first year I had a muzzleloader.  Since then, I've accumulated a few more guns and have taken deer with my percussion longrifles in regular deer season; taken deer with my flintlocks in flintlock season and I'm still after a turkey with my muzzleloading shotgun. The point I'd like to make is that I haven't had any guns made that just hang above the mantle; I enjoy shooting them and hunting with each of them.

My most recent acquisition is a David Price swivel breech kit.  I recently took it hunting last weekend and after returning to our home base, one of the fellows asked if my swivel breech was legal to hunt deer in PA.  I told him it was a flintlock, of single ignition, and that as far as I was knew it was legal.  However, I THINK I'M WRONG!  I read the game law last night and it states "Only single barrel flintlock ignition long guns .44 caliber or larger with open iron sights propelling a single spherical lead ball using a cloth patch are permitted."  I think this might be the same requirement from 1976 when muzzleloading season was established in PA. 

I know I'm not the only person hunting in Pennsylvania with a swivel breech as I've talked with some fellows up at Dixon's this past summer.  I doubt if the Commissioners for the PA Game Commission would even know what a swivel breech is.  What I'd like to know is how do the game laws differ between states.  What's the requirement for muzzleloading in the state where you live? Please advise and thanks.

Dan
Dan Akers

Daryl

Re: Flintlock regulations for hunting deer
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2008, 07:58:51 PM »
Side hammer, open sighted muzzleloader - listed for primitive deer season - wayyyyy, up North & late.  No primitive season doww here, except for bows first 10 days of Sep.

omark