Author Topic: As a neophyte to the world of contemporary long rifles...  (Read 22645 times)

Buckingham

As a neophyte to the world of contemporary long rifles...
« on: March 26, 2013, 03:54:26 AM »
... I just wanted to thank all of you who build these magnificent instruments.

I recently purchased my first flintlock rifle (a custom rifle built in the 1970s based on a Hawken design) and I am now studying to purchase my first Long Rifle.  This is the culmination of years of wanting this type of rifle, so my intention is to read and learn what I can at this fantastic forum, and grow my knowledge and appreciation of the art and science which so many of you promulgate.

Thank you who build these for doing what you do.

Offline smylee grouch

Re: As a neophyte to the world of contemporary long rifles...
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2013, 04:41:00 AM »
Welcome to the fold Buckingham. Enjoy the ride.

Offline Dphariss

• Kill a Commie for your Mommy
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2013, 06:36:13 AM »
... I just wanted to thank all of you who build these magnificent instruments.

I recently purchased my first flintlock rifle (a custom rifle built in the 1970s based on a Hawken design) and I am now studying to purchase my first Long Rifle.  This is the culmination of years of wanting this type of rifle, so my intention is to read and learn what I can at this fantastic forum, and grow my knowledge and appreciation of the art and science which so many of you promulgate.

Thank you who build these for doing what you do.

Have any pictures of the Hawken style???

Dan
He who dares not offend cannot be honest. Thomas Paine

Offline PPatch

« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2013, 04:59:40 PM »
Welcome Buckingham;

What period and style of long rifle are you looking to purchase?

dave
Dave Parks   /   Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Buckingham

« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2013, 10:13:47 AM »
Here is a full length picture of the Hawken-style rifle that I recently purchased: