Author Topic: Collecting Contemporary Longrifles - some questions  (Read 27212 times)

Offline Wolfeknives

Collecting Contemporary Longrifles - some questions
« on: April 05, 2013, 07:08:49 AM »
I have been lurking on this forum for some time. I have read every post in all the different sections. I have also followed up with a search on all gunmakers I could find, closely studying the work of each.
I found myself drawn to the work of those who produce exceptional rifles in regard to fit and finish. Unfortunately these are also the makers who have a very long waiting list, or are not taking on any additional work. I have however managed to place an order with a couple of the makers whose work most appealed to me.
I have been collecting in other areas for many years. In all these collecting areas condition is of prime concern. I have noticed that many of the rifles produced today are "distressed", some more so than others. I am not trying to start any controversy, but can not understand the appeal of having a newly made rifle looking like a piece that has seen much use, and in many cases abuse. Surely they did not look like that during the period. To me they have a look of the antique rifles we see now, after many years of poor storage and exposure to less than ideal condition.
For my personal taste, I would prefer to receive a rifle that shows all the skill and craftsmanship of the maker without distractions created by blemishes. After all it is a item that was made only a few years ago, why would it want to pretend to be something else.
I am certain that there are many valid arguments against my thoughts, and I would love to hear them. I am always open to change my mind, and keen to learn about all aspects of collecting these beautiful pieces.

Wolfgang
« Last Edit: April 05, 2013, 07:11:52 AM by Wolfeknives »

Offline Collector

Re: Collecting Contemporary Longrifles - some questions
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2013, 08:49:42 AM »
Wolfgang,