Author Topic: Introduction/First Rifle  (Read 6920 times)

houch

Introduction/First Rifle
« on: October 20, 2013, 03:09:15 AM »
Hey Everyone,

I just wanted to introduce myself. I am new to the world of muzzle loaders and am looking to get my first flintlock. I have looked into getting a kit and/or commissioning a rifle and am a bit confused on how to proceed.   ???

On the one hand, I can pay $600-900 for a TOTW or Chambers kit and build the rifle myself. On the other hand, I can commission a rifle for $2-2500. The cost between the two option is not huge (I would have to buy a fair number of tools for the diy method), but the wait time is. The fastest turn around I was quoted by a builder was 1.5 years.

Is there any route that doesn't involve 2015 and still results in a quality rifle? I am interested to hear how others have approached this problem. I am not opposed to buying a used gun, but have few option that meet my needs. Currently I am looking for a gun with a .50 or .54 rifled, swamped barrel...the rest of the gun I am not SUPER picky about. Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

Thank you for your time and I look forward to meeting everyone!

J

Online EC121

Re: Introduction/First Rifle
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2013, 03:30:26 AM »
There are people selling built rifles who can sell you a reasonably priced, finished rifle to get started or you can finish it yourself.  Not many tools involved in finishing the wood and metal.  Sandpaper and files.  Learn to shoot on this one and look around.   There are all levels of rifles on the market.  No waiting. 
Brice Stultz

Offline WadePatton

• Tennessee
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2013, 03:38:14 AM »
Welcome abroad! I'm only 5 years into my first build.  (there were some days off)