Author Topic: Sites  (Read 5389 times)

brooktrout

Sites
« on: April 17, 2014, 03:37:35 PM »
I am very new to the hobby of collecting and my information base is rather limited.  I have recently encountered a rifle which carries the name "Sites" on the top of the barrel.  I saw it a few days ago and I think it was "printed" on, not in script as if it was a signature.  I also came upon a brief article and very old drawing which mentioned Sites. (This material was in the possession of the gun owner)  The claim was that he was a Fincastle, Va maker from about 1805 to 1835 and then moved "west".  The drawing was of a "Sites" styled patch box.  It was rather large and had what appeared to be a dogwood blossom at the front/top end.  The rifle was in very bad condition.  My assessment is that the barrel was not original to the stock, yet both had evidence of being made by Sites.  Wrist broken and repaired (poorly done).  Probably originally flint but converted to cap (also poorly done).  Probably a 50 cal.  BBL length of 38 inches but muzzle end looked uncut and wood length looked proper included a brass cap.

Does anyone have any thoughts on the gun or Sites or might be able to point me in the proper direction?  I doo have some photos but this is my first post and I am not yet familiar with how one accomplished putting a photo in the message.  Thanks!

Offline louieparker

Re: Sites
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2014, 04:08:30 PM »
Sites worked around Arrow Rock Missouri. The guns I have seen by him have been very plain. His earlier Va. guns may have been more ornate. Don't recall ever seeing one. Louie

brooktrout

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2014, 04:27:11 PM »
Thanks!  I did run upon one source which connected Sites with Mo. Guess I need to figure out how to add images.

Offline Avlrc

• Hampshire County Long Rifles
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2014, 04:46:06 PM »
Do you have Whisker's " Gunsmiths of Virginia" he has 5 makers named Sites. Also several Pictures of Sites rifles.