Author Topic: The Bear Creek School  (Read 8004 times)

Offline Hurricane ( of Virginia)

• Library_mod
The Bear Creek School
« on: February 09, 2009, 05:48:58 AM »
First, I would like to start off with a heart-felt Thank You to Dr. Fred Garner (Hurricane on here), Nord, and Dennis, for their yowman like work effort to create the virtual library on this site.  I was asked by Dr. Fred if I would be willing to have the articles I had posted on this site over the last year be moved into the library and I gladly agreed.

Dr. Fred has also requested that I please write a series of articles on the different Schools within North Carolina Longrifles.  I have agreed to do this and hope this informtion will be found to be useful to those who would like to learn more about these subjects on this site.

I have been collecting North Carolina Longrifles for close to thirty years now.  I am a life long native of the state and have become good friends with most of the other big collectors of these rifles and have been able to visit their homes, look at and handle their prized  possessions. This has given me the opportunity to be exposed to more of these Longrifles than most. I do not consider myself to be an expert on the subject. (Back in the 80's a collector friend told me that when it comes to collecting historical weapons, the definition of the word expert, is someone that is more than 200 miles from home, then you can be an expert on any subject.  I have lived here all of my life.)

In his ground breaking book "The Longrifles of North Carolina" the late John Bivins talks of rifles being made in 10 different Counties. This book was originally published in 1968. Since then a number of new important rifles have surfaced a lot of significant research by people like my friends Bill Ivey, Arron Capel, the late Dr. Harley MacIntosh and myself.