Author Topic: Need help on this old rifle  (Read 3353 times)

gunsbrad

Need help on this old rifle
« on: September 26, 2014, 03:08:41 AM »
Hello all.  I have long been a lurker here, but this is my first time around posting.  I hope this is the right place for this, and I hope I am not breaching any rules of etiquette.  If this post is off-putting let me know and I will move or remove it.

I am a school teacher by trade, but I have built a few long rifles in amongst my other interests of more modern type black powder cartridge rifles.  I know about styling and some history, but I don't know much about the actual collecting of antique rifles. 

An acquaintance of mine who is a retired school teacher recently had a brother pass on and left him with some awful nice firearms.  My acquaintance knows nothing of firearms and cares less.  He and his wife both have some pretty severe ailments and I think he would like to sell them, but at this time I am not sure. I am quite certain their Dr. bills are extensive. He asked me to find out what they are worth, and where he might possibly sell them.  Most of the guns are more modern types that are much easier to put a value to.  There was however a 1850 springfield musket and this rifle.  I am guessing gunbroker is not the best place to sell these so her is where you guys come in.  Any advice you can give would be appreciated, but I am mostly looking for a value and where/how best to sell this piece.