Author Topic: Need info on a rifle type  (Read 4597 times)

Saddlebag Preacher

Need info on a rifle type
« on: October 17, 2014, 12:23:06 AM »
I am new to the forum, so I may not be asking in the right spot. I need some help from some of you experts.

I have been shooting BP for several years hunting and Cowboy reenactments. I also own a 1970's CVA Mountain Rifle in flintlock, so I know the basics. Recently I finally discovered and traced my GGGG-Grandfather to Pittsylvania County Va and he volunteered in 1777 to fight indians siding with the British on the Holston River. After he was mustered out, 4 four years later in Amherst Co, Va he was hauling Mill iron when he and his wagon was pressed into service by Gen Wayne. He was sent with the army to Williamsburg and Richmond, hauling supplies and baggage.

He was born in Easttown, Pa. and before the war, helped a Herman Cook lead German and Dutch settlers to southern Va. This being said, and maybe boring some of you, I would like to know what type of rifle or longarm he would likely be carrying. I want to invest in a good one, and researching builders show a price ranging from $1700.00 up to several thousands. I will shoot this gun and may look to join a period group to shoot with. I have become totally engrossed in my heritage with this period and if I am going to spend a lot of money for a once in a lifetime rifle, I want it to be correct to what my grandfather may have carried. Thanks for any help.

Offline PPatch

Re: Need info on a rifle type
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2014, 01:19:53 AM »