Author Topic: Windage adjustment  (Read 2716 times)

Bluegoose23

Windage adjustment
« on: February 23, 2015, 06:15:21 AM »
Again I will state I'm new at this as an excuse for possibly sounding like a idiot.  Anyway I'm working on sighting in my rifle.   My question is: Is it better to drift the front or rear sight for windage or does it matter.  Both of mine are dovetailed in.   

Offline bob in the woods

Re: Windage adjustment
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2015, 06:25:09 AM »
I like the front sight to be set in the middle/centre of the barrel. If I make any adjustments, i.e. with an adjustable rear sight, the front stays where it is. But, unless it's my target rifle, my long rifles all have non adjustable sights , so the rear sight is centred as well.  If the rear sight needs to be set much off the centreline, you have a barrel problem IMO.  So, to answer your question, drift the rear sight in the direction you want the ball to go.

Offline Marcruger

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2015, 03:03:40 PM »
Hi Bluegoose. 

I will share what was shared with me.  First, do your load testing and shoot for group size.  Don't worry about where it is on the paper. 

Once settled on a tight-shooting load, then worry about regulating your sights.

I have experience with a longrifle constructed by a novice.  The barrel was unmarked by the maker.  The novice didn't account for runout, or didn't know where the runout was.  Runout is the small error in boring a barrel versus the exterior profile.  Good barrel makers either have no runout, or they make sure and mark the barrel so the runout is at the top or bottom, and that can be handled with filing the sights.  Horizontal runout has to get handled by drifting the sight(s).