Author Topic: barrel woes & accuracy  (Read 7842 times)

richb77

barrel woes & accuracy
« on: February 28, 2015, 10:18:18 PM »
I am a newbie with BP. I had an old TC Hawken that I had stored in the closet for the last 20 years. I have started shooting with a club here in San Antonio. I purchased a Rice barrel in 45 cal. for the Hawken. I have put at least 200 rounds through it. My groups at 50 yards are great, 3 shots that touch each other. When I try to sight in at 100 yards I am all over the place, can't seem to get a group inside 12 inches. I am using 55 grains of 3f at 50 and 65 grains at 100, I am using a .440 ball with .020 Teflon patch. Anybody have any suggestions?
« Last Edit: March 01, 2015, 10:50:58 PM by EvonAschwege »

Offline Marcruger

Re: barrel woes & accuracy
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2015, 10:31:42 PM »
The first thing that comes into my mind is the target you are using.  

At 100 yards my old eyes don't discern the aiming point as well as at shorter ranges.  

For open sights, as well as peeps with bead front sights, I make my own targets.  I get a piece of day-glow yellow or green poster board, and use a black magic marker to make a big black cross (side to side & top to bottom of paper) across the center.  The legs of the cross are, say, 3" wide.  

From 100yards the cross looks plenty fine, and you can draw a good "bead" on the target to regulate your groups.  It allows fine aiming both horizontally and vertically.  

It works for me.  I hope it proves helpful to you.  

Best wishes,   Marc
« Last Edit: March 02, 2015, 12:20:12 AM by Ky-Flinter »

Offline Marcruger

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2015, 10:36:06 PM »
Also, have you tried your 55 grain load at 100yards?  Your gun may simply not like the 65 grain charge.  Rounds touching at 50 yards shouldn't be 12 inches at 100yards.