Author Topic: ramrod hole  (Read 15446 times)

Offline Blacksmoke

• "Old age and treachery beats youth and skill"
Re: ramrod hole
« Reply #25 on: April 24, 2015, 07:12:03 PM »
Hi, Guys after long absence, mostly do to a crashing computer and work at the bench, I am back on ALR.
speaking of work at the bench I have just noticed a thread on drilling ram rod holes.  The way I have been doing it for 40 yrs. is with a twist drill welded to a piece of cold rolled rod - it works like a charm. I have never had a hole that did not drill straight!  The trick is to have two equal and sharp cutting flutes - this applies to both wood and metal for deep drilling. Also keep the flutes clean every 1/4" by withdrawing the drill and blowing - the go back in and keep drilling. Mark out the profile of the hole on the side of your stock blank and drill it parallel to the center line of your barrel - esp. if it is a swamped barrel. The ramrod groove has to follow the same center line and depth that the rr hole is to drilled at.   See following photos:

Hugh Toenjes
« Last Edit: April 24, 2015, 10:20:21 PM by Blacksmoke »
H.T.

Offline Dphariss

• Kill a Commie for your Mommy
« Reply #26 on: April 24, 2015, 08:18:24 PM »
Am I the only one that H A T E S the straight flute Track of the Wolf ramrod drill?  Squalls, gets tight, it's horrible.  Oh, and it most definitely can go off.  A great deal.  I've had better success (though hardly 100%) with the "Brad tip" drill I got from Muzzleloader Builders Supply some time ago.

There is no gunsmithing task  I dread more, or curse more than drilling ramrod holes.