Author Topic: Flintlock Blunderbuss on Gunbroker  (Read 3055 times)

Offline Keithbatt

Flintlock Blunderbuss on Gunbroker
« on: May 29, 2015, 08:21:05 AM »
OK, so I like blunderbusses.  I'm a builder, not a collector but I study literature and browse quite a bit to learn. I especially like Baxter's book "blunderbusses."  I buy auction catalogs to see originals.   

This one is for sale on gunbroker:

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=485776556

This post is because I want an opinion about the originality of this particular gun.

I do not have the experience to pass judgement, but I'll say what I think.  It looks to me like this has been restocked recently. The wood seems far too clean, the inletting superficially chipped out, whereas the steel is heavily pitted (but clean).   It looks unlike a well cared for original I've seen in print. 

Am I on the right track? 

Thanks for your thoughts.

Keith.

Offline Hungry Horse

Re: Flintlock Blunderbuss on Gunbroker
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2015, 04:41:56 PM »
 For starters I would say their dating is off by at least forty years. The furniture on this piece runs the gamut, from very good shape, to very rough. This makes me believe some of it isn't original to the gun. This thing looks like it might  be a composite gun built from a couple of guns. The lock isn't typical for a blunderbuss. The stock shows what appears to be burn marks, which could be artificial aging of a restock. and of course the side plate is just wrong. JMO.

Hungry Horse

Offline E.vonAschwege

• Global Moderator
    • von Aschwege Flintlocks
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2015, 05:39:26 PM »