Author Topic: Hodgdon triple 7  (Read 9225 times)

cowboys1062

Hodgdon triple 7
« on: June 03, 2015, 07:00:27 AM »
 I have this container of Triple7 that I have had for some time now. I've never used Triple7 before. I normally use Pyrodex RS in all my muzzleloaders with pretty good results. Blackpowder is hard to come by here where I live. I could be wrong but I think I read some where that Triple7 burns hotter or has a higher combustion rate than Pyrodex or Blackpowder and to adjust my amounts in my loads with this in mind. I absolutely no nothing about Triple7 and will not use it until I'm better informed. I would greatly appreciate any information, thoughts, or advice on the use of this stuff. Also if there is any pros or cons in using it. Respectfully, cowboys1062

tuffy

Re: Hodgdon triple 7
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2015, 02:25:57 PM »
From my experience, Triple 7 is just a touch hotter than Pyrodex. But it is much, much less corrosive also. I found that the guns were all much easier to clean. I just shoot offhand at ranges out to 150 yds and my point of aim didn't seem to change much. If you bench shoot that may not be the case. Hope this helps.

CW

Offline moleeyes36

« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2015, 12:17:39 AM »
I have this container of Triple7 that I have had for some time now. I've never used Triple7 before. I normally use Pyrodex RS in all my muzzleloaders with pretty good results. Blackpowder is hard to come by here where I live. I could be wrong but I think I read some where that Triple7 burns hotter or has a higher combustion rate than Pyrodex or Blackpowder and to adjust my amounts in my loads with this in mind. I absolutely no nothing about Triple7 and will not use it until I'm better informed. I would greatly appreciate any information, thoughts, or advice on the use of this stuff. Also if there is any pros or cons in using it. Respectfully, cowboys1062