Author Topic: This Dam Weather!  (Read 4493 times)

cowboys1062

This Dam Weather!
« on: June 16, 2015, 11:18:58 AM »
 I have yet to cast a ball! I am brand new to casting and can't wait for my first session. I have purchased the equipment I needed and a very generous and kind member sent me 30 pounds of lead that I needed to get me started. I have asked alot of questions and have learned alot through reading the forums and watching as many Youtube videos as I can. A couple of members here on this forum have been guiding me along. The member that sent me the lead also advised me on what I'd need and where to get it. I'm feeling pretty confident I can start now. Unfortunately it has been raining here for the last couple of weeks with still more rain in the forcast. I don't have a garage or shed so all my casting has to be outdoors. If there is one thing I've learned it is that water and casting lead definitely do not mix! I'm on hold till further notice. Respectfully, cowboys1062

Offline Standing Bear

Re: This Dam Weather!
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2015, 08:44:53 PM »
Yezzir, water and molten lead don't mix.  That's an understatement.  Even a drop of perspiration can cause unwanted splattering. 

Safety equipment must include eye protection after that long pants closed toe shoes or boots and even gloves are recommended.  As you will be pouring outside there shouldn't be a problem with ventilation but a fan wouldn't hurt.  I pour in a metal shop building with doors open and two fans running.  One blows on me and toward an overhead door and the other is half way between me and the overhead door blowing toward the door.

It's kinda like running a chain saw or reloading, if done correctly it is safe, fun and rewarding.  If procedures especially safety precautions aren't followed the results can be catastrophic.

Take care,

TC
Nothing is hard if you have the right equipment and know how to use it.  OR have friends who have both.

http://texasyouthhunting.com/