Author Topic: Seasoning  (Read 15085 times)

benjaminh123

Seasoning
« on: June 28, 2015, 02:27:26 AM »
What does “seasoning” a barrel involve? May be a dumb question, but I'm a newbie, just trying to sort out some info.

Benjamin

Offline bob in the woods

Re: Seasoning
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2015, 02:43:42 AM »
Seasoning a barrel, in my view , basically involves not cleaning it   :o   I don't believe that my barrel behaves the same as my frying pan  :)     Seriously…why would you want to ? 

benjaminh123

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2015, 03:18:43 AM »
Okay, thats what I thought; just wanted to make sure.

Offline alyce-james

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2015, 04:14:38 AM »
benjaminh123; Sir, good evening. The world I live in there are no dumb questions. The people on this site, all, will be helpful and answer honest questions. Welcome and lots to learn here and interesting projects shared. Have a great wee end. AJ.
"Candy is Dandy but Liquor is Quicker". by Poet Ogden Nash 1931.

benjaminh123

« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2015, 05:37:59 AM »
Thanks AJ, I've really enjoyed my time here; lots of info in previous posts as well as friendly people to post on my own problems/questions.

Offline BJH

« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2015, 03:32:07 PM »
Seasoning barrels was a marketing ploy from a patch lube manufacturer. Mostly debunked. I would rather use a good gun oil or rig to protect my barrels from rust after cleaning.BJH
BJH

Offline Maven

« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2015, 04:38:20 PM »
BJH is correct.  Here's a link to why we don't [need to] do it:

http://www.muzzleloadingforum.com/fusionbb/showtopic.php?tid/251958/
Paul W. Brasky

Offline moleeyes36

« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2015, 05:09:23 PM »
I go by the rule that if a manufacturer tells you his product seasons the bore you have to suspect all his other claims are malarkey as well.

Mole Eyes 
Don Richards
NMLRA Field Rep, Instructor, Field Range Officer
NRA Chief Range Safety Officer

kaintuck