Author Topic: Oily rags  (Read 8348 times)

Online Nordnecker

Oily rags
« on: June 28, 2015, 02:32:34 PM »
I've heard a lot of horror stories over the years of fires being started by oily rags. Linseed oil seems to be the worst culprit. My Dad kept his gun cleaning rag in an old cardboard box for many years without an incident. I keep mine in a glass jar with a lid. The idea being it is sealed up and can't get any more oxygen than what is in the jar. The oil on my rags is mostly WD-40, 3 in one, Rem oil, maybe some Hoppe's. I've been using these same rags for at least 20 yrs.
Do you guys keep your gun rags? Is this safe?
"I can no longer stand back and allow communist infiltration, communist indoctrination and the international communist conspiracy to sap and impurify our precious bodily fluids."- Gen Jack T. Ripper

Offline BJH

Re: Oily rags
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2015, 03:24:42 PM »
Sounds reasonable to me, better might be to purchase a new empty metal paint can at Sherman Williams or similar store. You just set the lid on instead of tamping it down. I don't like glass in my shop, I'm too dang clumsy. BJH
BJH

Offline David Rase

• If we need it here, make it here. Charlie Daniels
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2015, 04:40:26 PM »
I don't like glass in my shop, I'm too dang clumsy. BJH
I hear you on that one BJ.  I had a one gallon glass jar full of quenching oil in my shop for years.  Every time I pulled it off the shelf to use my pucker factor needle pegged.  Finally change over to a one gallon paint can BEFORE the big one happened, which is usually not my mod of operation.  As I get older I have been more proactive than reactive.  :D
David 

Offline alyce-james

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2015, 04:45:46 PM »
Nordnecker; Sir, Glass jars and me in my shop, better explained as  "me and a broom, dust pan", - band-aid -.  I'm old enough to have heard about oilely rag fires over the years. Old paint cans in my shop. Have a great week end. AJ.