Author Topic: Need what's left of rifle identifed  (Read 5241 times)

GARMASTERS

Need what's left of rifle identifed
« on: July 13, 2015, 03:29:29 AM »
Greetings to all, I'm a newbie here.  Got what's left of a .46 caliber (if there's rifling it's rusted too bad to tell), 44 & 5/8 inch hexagon barrel (measures .910", .920", .930" depending which side you measure and .960" at muzzle) no lockwork, percussion, and rear of the stock broken off.  Very poor rusted condition, but I didn't want to start chemical or sanding methods to look for manufacturer or proof marks.  What's left of it weighs about 7 pounds.  I recently read the article in American Rifleman about Chief Tecumseh's "Northwest Trade Gun" and the top-down picture looks a lot like this one.  If I can load pics I'll show what I got.  Do I have a $15 crowbar or is there demand for something like this or do I just donate it to some museum?  SWAG ideas are welcomed.  My expertise is so-called "modern" firearms.  Any thoughts as to what this may be?

« Last Edit: July 13, 2015, 05:09:57 AM by GARMASTERS »

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Need what's left of rifle identifed
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2015, 06:29:17 AM »
It appears to have most recently, if not originally, have been a half stocked percussion period rifle probably bored smooth at sometime in its working life.  Full octagon barrel so no relation to a NW trade gun.
Andover, Vermont

GARMASTERS

« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2015, 07:03:02 AM »
Not the best pics, but if you look close it's a hexagon bbl.

Offline Don Stith

« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2015, 05:34:52 PM »
Lots of knowledgeable people here who are willing to help and share info. You really do need to learn to count though. With what little your pictures show there is nothing that indicates a North west gun to me

Offline Robert Wolfe

• Great X Grandpa
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2015, 05:54:12 PM »
Garmaster, count the sides of the barrel. Definitely eight.
Robert Wolfe
Northern Indiana