Author Topic: Total greenhorn question, but here goes...  (Read 14268 times)

Offline bones92

• If it was easy, everyone would do it.
Total greenhorn question, but here goes...
« on: July 22, 2015, 09:13:22 PM »
I know, it's a total newbie question, but before I order the wrong thing, I should ask some questions.

How do you determine what is the right flint size for a rifle?  I see dimensions listed, which I assume are length and width.

Should I measure the width of the jaws of the cock for proper width?

And for length, should I measure (while at half-cock) the distance from the clamping screw to the face of the frizzen, and back off about 1/8"?

I assume it is desirable to be able to close the frizzen while at half-cock, thus the flint should not touch at half-cock.

And I believe I've read here that the flint should contact the frizzen around 2/3 up from the bottom of the frizzen face.  Is that correct?

If it was easy, everyone would do it.

Offline hanshi

• My passion is longrifles!
    • martialartsusa.com
Re: Total greenhorn question, but here goes...
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2015, 10:19:14 PM »
Most suppliers who sell flints have the proper sizes listed for the various locks.  ToTW is a good reference though not the only one.  Go to their flint second, find your lock and get the size flint listed for it.
!Jozai Senjo! "always present on the battlefield"
Young guys should hang out with old guys; old guys know stuff.

Offline bones92

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2015, 12:02:42 AM »
Okay, but that assumes I know what kind of lock I have.

In one case, it's an old Turner Kirkland .40, and the other it's a custom built rifle with Bill Large barrel and what I think is a DGW lock. 

Offline Ky-Flinter

• Global Moderator
  • Born in Kentucke, just 250 years late
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2015, 12:43:25 AM »
Hi ya Bones,