Author Topic: Is Schuetzen FFFg for flintlocks?  (Read 6358 times)

BartSr

Is Schuetzen FFFg for flintlocks?
« on: September 30, 2015, 01:33:42 AM »
I ran out of Goex FFFg and tried some Schuetzen FFFg today.  Is this powder OK for main charge use in .45 cal flintlocks?
Newbie here as you can tell. :-[

Paul

Offline PPatch

Re: Is Schuetzen FFFg for flintlocks?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2015, 01:58:36 AM »
Yes. The Schuetzen may place the ball differently however, so it would be good to do some testing to see where it shoots relative to the Goex you are use to. You may have to adjust your powder load.

It is good that you chose to ask when you had doubt, rather than just go for it.

dave
« Last Edit: September 30, 2015, 02:02:49 AM by PPatch »
Dave Parks   /   Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Offline smallpatch

• Dane Lund
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2015, 05:21:07 PM »
Bart,

In a word.....yes.  Some load work up should be done, but you'll find it's very close to Goex.  Maybe a tad hotter and cleaner.  You may not notice a bit of difference.
In His grip,

Dane

Offline Daryl

« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2015, 06:17:26 PM »
Paul  it will work just fine.  I worked up loads with both 3F GOEX and 2F GOEX in both m .45 and .40 rifles.  I recorded the results so that if I ran out of one of the grades of powder, I'd probably have the other on hand.  I found in both of these rifles, that 10gr. MORE 2f was needed to achieve the same groups and velocity as 3F.  Now that I also have 1 1/2 Swiss, I need to test that as well.
If I was able to buy any other powders, I'd do likewise, just to have that option if the situation arose.
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

BartSr

« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2015, 08:09:50 AM »
Daryl,

I have been using Scheutzen (sp?) FFFg in my kit T/C .45 flinter.  Seems to work fine but gives challenges with it's patent breech.

Thanks,
Paul

Offline Don Steele