Author Topic: Neatsfoot oil patch lube  (Read 6249 times)

Offline L. Akers

Neatsfoot oil patch lube
« on: November 30, 2015, 05:45:51 AM »
Hello all.  I am new to this forum and have been reading some "history" in the back posts.  I have seen numerous posts where neatsfoot oil is touted as a patch lube.  However I have not come across any posts which caution that neatsfoot oil is slightly acidic!  When I first started using neatsfoot over 40 years ago, a fellow shooter--a chemist by trade--cautioned me about this fact.  I didn't think it would be a good idea to be putting acid down my bore so every time I buy a new bottle I work up about 1/8  teaspoon of lead filings and dump them into the bottle.  When the little bubbles stop forming on the lead (3-4 days) the oil is safe to use.  I just leave the lead in the bottom of the bottle.   Just thought I'd pass this along.

Offline WadePatton

• Tennessee
Re: Neatsfoot oil patch lube
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2015, 07:10:22 AM »
Excellent post.  A problem (perceived at the very least) complete with an inexpensive and simple solution.  Thanks.
Hold to the Wind

Offline Daryl

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2015, 09:00:51 PM »
TKS for this post, Akers.  I did not know NFOil was acidic.  I've not harmed by bores with it, maybe just lucky. I have some 'strips' and will test my oil, sometime.
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

Offline WadePatton

• Tennessee
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2015, 05:00:41 AM »
I just tested mine.  It's on the end of the scale, so the measurement probably isn't as accurate as it could be.  The lower limit of my strips is 4.5 ph.

Now to test on clean bbl steel.

BTW I already have lead in the bottom of my bear grease.  I forget why.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2015, 05:01:38 AM by WadePatton »
Hold to the Wind

Fred Hembree

« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2015, 05:14:48 AM »