Author Topic: small Slile flint  (Read 5038 times)

Offline crankshaft

small Slile flint
« on: January 11, 2016, 09:48:09 PM »

I have several Siler flintlocks; from Jim, bought elsewhere, and a kit I put together, ( after replacing a few innerds).
But I have no knowledge or experience with the small flint Silar, except percussion.  Is it as fast as the large flint?  I plan to eventually make a target rifle, kinda southern style.   Thoughts?   Experience?      thank you...

Offline little joe

Re: small Slile flint
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 10:24:33 PM »
Having used several of Jim,s locks I think the small Siler is faster

Offline stuart cee dub

« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2016, 05:30:18 PM »
Small Siler  flints are really fast .My recollection is several people on this board have posted testing results on these and this was the quickest .
One of the best off hand target shooters I know has a rifle that has the small siler flinter on his money gun.
Maybe it is because being smaller there is simply less movement until the flint meets the frizzen .

Offline bob in the woods

« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2016, 08:22:51 PM »
Lots of target shooters here have the small siler rather than the large. It is a great lock.

Offline hanshi

• My passion is longrifles!
    • martialartsusa.com
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2016, 10:19:04 PM »
The small Siler on my .36 skwerl rifle is really fast; I can attest to that one.
!Jozai Senjo! "always present on the battlefield"
Young guys should hang out with old guys; old guys know stuff.

Offline diamante

« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2016, 03:13:10 AM »
The small Siler is very fast and dependable.

Offline Gene Carrell

« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2016, 12:45:06 PM »
Using the Chambers' Small Siler flint lock, I get better ignition and flint life by inserting a tumbler made for the large deluxe Siler and using a larger flint. Great lock.
Gene

Offline EC121

« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2016, 10:16:14 PM »