Author Topic: Sort of new in NW CT  (Read 10529 times)

CTShooter

Sort of new in NW CT
« on: March 19, 2016, 06:31:50 PM »
Built a T/C Hawken .50 perc. from an old kit several years ago, just now getting serious about learning how to shoot it. Also have a T/C .54 I haven't messed with yet and picked up a 12ga yesterday.

Done a bit of reading and going to try a couple of things today, just got back from the fabric store.

I'll wait to ask my questions until later.

Anyone else in the area feel free to contact, I'm the only one I know shooting muzzleloaders around here.

CTShooter

Re: Sort of new in NW CT
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2016, 02:36:12 AM »
Ok, I learned I'm not good at measuring fabric and I had to make another trip to the fabric store.

Another range trip tomorrow.

Offline Don Steele

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2016, 02:18:01 PM »
I'm gonna suggest that you contact the NMLRA for information about shooting in your area.
You might have to drive a bit...but it will be time WELL SPENT. You'll learn more in one day with experienced muzzleloader shooters than a year spent online. 
Look at the world with a smilin' eye and laugh at the devil as his train rolls by...(Alison Krauss)

CTShooter

« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2016, 03:41:29 PM »
Thanks, been there, done that, not really an option, nothing really close and my current health won't allow extended car trips.

There is supposed to be group in Sharon CT, but there is no current contact information and they let their charter expire.

So as of now it's the me, myself and I show and I'm going to learn however I have to.

CTShooter

« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2016, 12:37:23 PM »
Thanks for all the information on the site.

Very successful range day, decided to try the .54.

15 rounds in a row, no wiping between shots, decent accuracy, pretty easy cleanup.

Offline conquerordie

« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2016, 10:17:47 PM »