Author Topic: Santa Fe Hawken  (Read 8592 times)

Offline Lampro

• Starting Member
Santa Fe Hawken
« on: March 29, 2016, 06:37:29 AM »
I recently got an Allen Arms "Santa Fe" Hawken style rifle. I've only shot it a few times but it seems that after 3 or 4 shots it gets extremely difficult to get the ball to go down the last several inches of the barrel. I have been shooting black powder revolvers for about a year but I am fairly new to bp rifles. I did not have this problem with my first 2 rifles, T/C "Hawken's" in .45 and .50 calibers. Can anyone tell me why it's so difficult to get the ball seated in this Santa Fe Hawken?

Offline RichG

Re: Santa Fe Hawken
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2016, 07:17:19 AM »
load data? new barrel, old rough barrel? what were you shooting in the t/c's.

Offline One Shot

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2016, 08:55:24 AM »
What are you using for powder and lube?

Offline Hungry Horse

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2016, 05:43:17 PM »
 The problem you are having is that the gun you have was built in .53 cal. but marked .54 cal.. I owned one of the one in one thousand models with a serial #less than 200. I got it cheap because the owner, had won it at a rendezvous, and couldn't make it shoot, and had a hard time loading it. A little research disclosed the problem. I bought a .520 RB. mold, and the problems were solved. These guns actually shoot very well, and can usually be bought cheap, because everyone tries to shoot .530 balls in them.

Hungry Horse

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2016, 07:28:23 PM »
I bought a Lyman .526" ball mold for mine...a good shooter.
D. Taylor Sapergia
www.sapergia.blogspot.com

Art is not an object.  It is the excitement inspired by the object.

Offline Lampro

• Starting Member
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2016, 08:22:13 PM »