Author Topic: Long rifle identification help  (Read 5561 times)

HRobert5

Long rifle identification help
« on: May 09, 2016, 01:29:12 AM »
Excuse my ignorance; I am totally new to this. My Dad collected but until last week all I had was a Pennsylvania (?) rifle that was passed down to me. Last weekend at an estate yard sale I bought a long rifle for next to nothing. It has a lot of silver inlays, including a bird and what appears to be a seal. It seems smallish in proportion to me; L.O.P. is 11-1/2" to the hair trigger.

« Last Edit: May 09, 2016, 04:55:26 AM by HRobert5 »

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Long rifle identification help
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2016, 02:23:41 AM »
Hi and welcome!  http://americanlongrifles.org/forum/index.php?topic=10.0

This will help you post photos.
Andover, Vermont

HRobert5

« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2016, 04:27:24 AM »
Hi and welcome!  http://americanlongrifles.org/forum/index.php?topic=10.0

This will help you post photos.
That works great!
Thanks!
« Last Edit: May 09, 2016, 04:56:19 AM by HRobert5 »

HRobert5

« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2016, 04:54:30 AM »
You may or may not notice but almost half of the inlays are painted red.

Bennypapa

« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2016, 04:25:34 PM »
Do you have any idea what caliber it is or maybe a picture of the muzzle?

The "seal" inlay on the right stock cheek is interesting .

Offline Hungry Horse

« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2016, 05:51:20 PM »
The unusual inlays, and the fact that some of them have been painted red, could point to Native American ownership, or possibly even manufacture. The small size could indicate it was built for a youth, or a woman. The gun could also have been used in some part of the Arctic where thick clothing would dictate a shorter pull length.

Hungry Horse

HRobert5

« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2016, 08:01:45 PM »