Author Topic: 2 questions  (Read 9100 times)

newknapper

2 questions
« on: July 31, 2016, 12:42:02 AM »
I am new to flintlocks and muzzle loaders in general. I have read about hard fouling rings at the bottom of the barrel and I am just curious how can you tell if I was to ever have that issue. Also I have been fooling around with making some powder measures out of antler. Is the grains of powder measured in volume or weight? I have been weighing charges on a grain scale but wouldn't 70 grains of FFg volume wise be more that 70 grains of FFFg since the granules are a little larger? 

Offline retired fella

Re: 2 questions
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2016, 04:16:41 AM »
First mark your ramrod when uncharged and with your normal charge with patched ball.  If you are unable to get to your charged mark you have a fouling ring or an obstruction.  Simply swab with moist cleaning patch to remove.  I normally swab after 5 shots.  Some here tout not swabbing during an entire match.  To each his own I guess.

if you have already worked up your load using a scale to your satisfaction use that amount to calibrate your antler measure.  As to 3f vs 2f each gun is different and you need to experiment and see what your gun likes better.

Welcome to the madness.

Offline Candle Snuffer

• Traditional Muzzle Loading, Powder, Patch & Ball
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2016, 04:18:24 AM »
I am new to flintlocks and muzzle loaders in general. I have read about hard fouling rings at the bottom of the barrel and I am just curious how can you tell if I was to ever have that issue. Also I have been fooling around with making some powder measures out of antler. Is the grains of powder measured in volume or weight? I have been weighing charges on a grain scale but wouldn't 70 grains of FFg volume wise be more that 70 grains of FFFg since the granules are a little larger?