Author Topic: Shooting a pistol w/o rear sight  (Read 7592 times)

Offline hatman

Shooting a pistol w/o rear sight
« on: October 01, 2016, 07:01:56 AM »
I've thought about buying a Harper's Ferry pistol for a while just to have another flintlock pistol but was dissuaded by the lack of a rear sight.
There is now an intriguing pistol being offered here that I really like, but it also has no rear sight.
Can someone explain how shooting with just a front sight works if one wants a modicum of accuracy and consistency out to say 50 yards?
I haven't yet been successful in googling up an answer so I thought I'd ask the experts here.

I'm a newbie who lives in the PNW where flintlocks are a rarity at the range so I'm happy I found a forum where there is so much I can learn from you guys.

Offline Hungry Horse

Re: Shooting a pistol w/o rear sight
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2016, 09:56:43 AM »
 Most of the pistols you describe without rear sights, are personal protection replicas, or duelers, and are designed for up close, and personal, short range shooting. Pistol accuracy at fifty yards is a tall order. Most pistol matches I'm aware of are shot at 25 yards or less.

Hungry Horse

Offline L. Akers

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2016, 02:52:19 PM »
There are a couple of ways to "fudge" a rear sight on a pistol that doesn't have one.  One is to use the tang screw head for the sight if it sticks up high enough.  the head can be timed so that the slot is in line with the axis of the barrel.  Two is to file a V into the breech/tang junction.  Both these methods will give a serviceable rear sight.  The front sight is then manipulated to bring the gun to zero.

The "secret" to accuracy with a smoothbore is velocity, velocity, velocity.  A .45 cal. smooth pistol will take 45-50 gr. 3F and a tightly patched ball.  This load produces some hefty recoil and most of the shooters at Friendship wear a glove to handle it.

Offline Bob Roller

« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2016, 03:01:51 PM »