Author Topic: CVA .45 Mountain Rifle questions  (Read 12625 times)

Heavies

CVA .45 Mountain Rifle questions
« on: January 13, 2017, 02:59:19 AM »
Hello,
As you might find from this posting I am very new to Blackpowder and flintlocks.  I have experience in "modern" firearms and reloading, however, flints and black powder is very new to me.  I was always interested in black powder and "primitive" type firearms, but just now, because of political reasons decided to dive head on into this ever so fun and satisfying aspect of the firearm world. 

My first entry into flintlock weaponry is a gun broker find CVA mountain rifle in .45 Cal.  It has a 1:66 twist barrel for patched round ball.  It's lock is marked "Spain"  The barrel and steel furniture is finished in brown. 

At first I was frustrated by inconsistent ignition.  I drilled the touch hole liner out to 1/16", and thus far have not yet had a misfire or slow ignition.

Now for my questions...

The frizzen does not have enough room with the lock at half cock to close.  I've looked over the lock upwards and downwards and cannot figure a way to remedy this without major modification to the tumbler or cock...  Is this a common problem that was encountered with these rifles?

This is a range rifle that can be primed and fired immediately at the firing line so it isn't too much of a huge deal breaker, but the OCD nature in me is bothered by the incorrect function of this.

Also, does anyone know of the history of this model of rifle and other quirks or tips for this vintage of rifle? Anything special to look for safety wise or otherwise?