Author Topic: Sources for bulk black powder  (Read 6704 times)

Offline tddeangelo

Sources for bulk black powder
« on: January 23, 2017, 12:18:03 AM »
Anyone have a good place they go to in order to buy black powder in bulk?

I'm guessing shipping charges aren't terribly pleasant, but wondering if it makes sense to buy in bulk rather than a lb at a time over the counter.

Thanks!

Offline snapper

Re: Sources for bulk black powder
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2017, 12:26:06 AM »
Not sure what "in bulk" means to you. 

However, ATF limits the annual purchase per person at 50 lbs per year I believe.

I  buy a case at a time, which is 25, one pound cans.

There are a several places to get your powder.  I have been purchasing from Crater Fireworks out of IL for several years, it is easy for me as I pick it up on my way to or from when traveling.   Buffalo Arms has a good price on powder.

Fleener
My taste are simple:  I am easily satisfied with the best.  Winston Churchill

Offline Standing Bear

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2017, 02:06:25 AM »
Powder inc.  Clarksville AR. They also sell in bulk - no cans.
Nothing is hard if you have the right equipment and know how to use it.  OR have friends who have both.

http://texasyouthhunting.com/

Offline L. Akers

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2017, 02:13:32 AM »
Jack's Powder Keg.

Offline Darkhorse

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2017, 10:11:11 AM »
Rather it's worth it or not depends on how much you shoot, or anticipate shooting. I don't see it getting any cheaper and if you buy 25 pounds now you'll be glad you did a few years down the road. To me it was worth it.
I would only buy from a dealer who will mix your order. I think Grafs was the last firm I bought from but I can't really remember.
American horses of Arabian descent.

Offline wattlebuster

« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2017, 12:34:41 PM »
Powder Inc. ;D
Nothing beats the feel of a handmade southern iron mounted flintlock on a cold frosty morning

rfd