Author Topic: Paper Cartridges  (Read 7396 times)

Offline Frank

Paper Cartridges
« on: March 13, 2017, 04:01:10 AM »
Anybody use paper cartridges in their 20 gauge smoothbores? What kind of results have you had and what powder charges and ball sizes seem to work best.

I have been shooting flintlock rifles since 1975 and am putting together one of Clay Smith's early trade guns. This will be my first foray
into smoothbores. Will be trying different combinations, patched ball, bare ball and tow, bare ball and wads/cards. etc...
I thought using paper cartridges would be interesting as well and would make for faster reloading.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2017, 08:12:28 AM by Frank »

Offline thecapgunkid

• Matthew 25:40
Re: Paper Cartridges
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2017, 02:11:36 PM »
could not get it to group less than 4 inches even at 25 yards, no matter what load.  I ended up with a lubed felt wad and loading block at about 60 grains FF.

Paper seems to work better in the larger bore of my Charleville.  I have grouped that at about two inches with paper.

Not enough time or inclination to figure out why.

Don't shoot yore eye out, kid

The Capgun Kid

Offline gumboman

• Gumbocooking
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2017, 02:38:08 PM »
Have tried paper cartridges in my 62 caliber caplock rifle with very poor success. Accuracy was not possible in my rifle. Recovered paper clearly showed it burned to a crisp during firing. Used different number of wrappings to get a tight fit of ball to bore but nothing I did improved accuracy. In my opinion paper cartridges could work ok in smooth bore guns but its not for rifles if one hopes to get accuracy.

Offline bob in the woods

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2017, 04:24:23 PM »
I have shot 2 deer and 1 bear using paper cartridges in my .62 cal Edward Marshall rifle [ Chambers]   Accuracy is excellent
I use a .600 cast ball and 100 gr of FFg   wrapped in bond paper, and then dipped in a mix of bear oil and bee's wax[ soft ]