Author Topic: What exactly do I have?  (Read 30675 times)

New Jersey Devil

What exactly do I have?
« on: March 25, 2017, 05:47:58 AM »
Recently acquired a couple of flintlocks and while I've shot rifles since I was 8 years old, I have zero experience in the muzzleloader world, but looking to learn.

Hoping perhaps someone might know who the maker is of this rifle from my pics, or anything else you can tell me about it would be appreciated.  Features fish & moon motif, and the trigger-guard and stock have a nice star. Doesn't appear (though I'm not qualified to say) to be very old, as there are barely any scratches on it, so I imagine it wasnt shot much at all, though the leather seems petrified it's so hard, and the patch box has a spare flint that's wedged in so tight I will probably need a screwdriver to get it out.  As a fiddle player, I'm 100% sure it's maple, so I've got that down, lol.

The top of the barrel says S.Allen, but there's a D J on the barrel as well.  I've been reading a book on Colonial American rifles in an attempt to learn what I can, and apparently there was a Silas Allen of MA who was a very famous maker, so I'm wondering if the maker or this rifle's initials are DJ, and he made it in the style of or a tribute to S.Allen?  That's my uninformed WAG (Wild Ass Guess) anyway.  Any help would be appreciated, and I will (probably poorly) attempt to answer any questions.  Thanks, NJD.

my photos upload

« Last Edit: March 25, 2017, 05:49:34 AM by New Jersey Devil »

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: What exactly do I have?
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2017, 11:03:40 AM »
So, you have a creative build from the 1970s-1980s.  A mix of different styles and parts.  I think that is an L&R Durs Egg lock which became available in the mid 1970s.  It looks solidly built and hopefully is a good shooter.

It's probably not a tribute to a Silas Allen.  More likely that is the maker's signature.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2017, 11:05:37 AM by rich pierce »