Author Topic: Help for a New Guy  (Read 7657 times)

Offline Cory McArtor

Help for a New Guy
« on: April 24, 2017, 08:35:54 PM »
Hello all!  I'm new to the ALR forum and to black powder rifles in general.  I've been fascinated by these rifles for a while and have been looking to get one that I can learn to shoot/hunt with.  I recently found this and am considering buying it or trading one of my modern rifles for it.  The problem is, I don't know enough to know if this rifle is worth having.  The current owner doesn't know much about it other than that his father had it made some time in the past.  It is somewhere between 45-50 caliber and if I get it I will measure it to be certain.  Would any of you be able to tell me more about it?  I'm currently waiting on more pictures and will post them as soon as I can.

Thanks,

Cory

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
Re: Help for a New Guy
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2017, 09:10:11 PM »
Bore condition is important. I wouldn't give more than $700 for it. Less would be better.
NEW WEBSITE! www.mikebrooksflintlocks.com
Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin'?

Offline Martin S.

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2017, 10:01:53 PM »
It does not look like it has been well cared for.

I would pass.

There are many on this board who can set you up with a nicer beginner rifle.

Offline Nate McKenzie

• Luzerne Co. PA
    • Nathan McKenzie Gunmaker
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2017, 05:24:21 AM »
Looks like the wrong style lock for the style of rifle.  Check this out.
https://kiblerslongrifles.com/collections/rifle-kit
« Last Edit: April 25, 2017, 05:29:03 AM by Nate McKenzie »

Offline EC121

« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2017, 06:03:13 AM »