Author Topic: Lock and barrel questions  (Read 3101 times)

Offline Hungry Horse

Lock and barrel questions
« on: December 18, 2012, 07:36:22 PM »
 Ok, guys, I bought a bunch of muzzleloader parts from an estate, and have some questions about the quality of some of this stuff. First off there are two 12gauge barrels that are about 41" long from Numerich Arms. The problem is they are full choked, and I would like to build Committee of Safety muskets out of them. The choke is in the last few inches, but I have no good remedy for removing it without messing up the bore, and really would prefer not to just cut them off. Any ideas? There are several musket sized locks that appear to be pretty good quality but I have only had experience with one of them. There is a  1763 Charleville made in Japan, a Dixie Gun Works early Ketland, and several Italian Lott trade gun locks ( I have some experience with these). Are these any good? And if not can they be fixed? The Charleville has springs like a Peterbuilt.

Hungry Horse

Offline Dphariss

• Kill a Commie for your Mommy
Re: Lock and barrel questions
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2012, 08:09:09 PM »
Ream and lap.

Dan
He who dares not offend cannot be honest. Thomas Paine

Offline Dphariss

• Kill a Commie for your Mommy
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2012, 08:13:19 PM »
You might make a straight bit reamer its low tech but it works really well if used right.

Dan
He who dares not offend cannot be honest. Thomas Paine

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2012, 10:32:04 PM »
HH, I think the Numrich barrels will be small at the breech compared to originals and have an odd profile.  Not the best choice for a gun that looks like a militia musket.  Some of those old locks worked OK but the Lotts generally needed lots of work, often including new springs.  Just try them with flints and decide.  Some originals were no bargain either but you're best off with strong springs on a musket lock.
Andover, Vermont