Author Topic: Correct finish for southern mountain rifle.  (Read 7096 times)

JNG3

Correct finish for southern mountain rifle.
« on: June 22, 2017, 03:14:43 AM »
I will be ordering a Jim Kibler southern mountain rifle kit very soon. I'm no expert and don't claim to be, just trying to learn. I've scoured a lot of data on the internet. From what I can tell, in general, locks from the early 1800's were case hardened ( not necessarily COLOR case hardened) then polished to an in the white condition. Barrels and other metal work was charcoal blued or left in the white. Is this mostly correct and if so does this apply to rifles from Appalachia? If not please 'school' me. As for the stock, I intend on ordering the kit in walnut. From what research I've been able to accomplish, it seems to be a toss up between walnut or maple for rifles from this region. Once again is this correct or not? Thanks.

I should add that I want to finish the rifle as it would of been as it left the builder in the early 1800's. Not aged.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2017, 03:17:07 AM by JNG3 »

DFHicks

Re: Correct finish for southern mountain rifle.
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2017, 03:39:19 AM »
I had the good fortune of spending a week with Hacker Martin in June, 1969 while he made me a flintlock pistol.   I wish I could have recorded all of his comments while  there.  One thing I do remember is that he said the old time gunsmiths he knew in eastern Tenn. rubbed a really sour apple over the barrel of a new rifle.  That was just to dull the glint that would interfere with sighting.  I think sour apple juice is mild acetic acid.   Should  have tried this myself but never have.
Greg

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2017, 02:15:28 PM »