Author Topic: hardening a siler frizzen  (Read 4722 times)

gunlock

hardening a siler frizzen
« on: July 17, 2017, 03:01:00 PM »
I'm making a speedy repair to a friends large siler lock. One of the things I have to do is replace the frizzen. I have no experience hardening and tempering a commercially made lock and don't want to have it fail on him. What do I quench the frizzen in? I suspect not water and what is the best way to temper it? I make my own locks for my personal guns from wrought irom forge, file, polish, engrave and harden in the traditional manner so this is a new experience for me.

Offline deepcreekdale

Re: hardening a siler frizzen
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2017, 03:32:58 PM »
Per the Siler/Chambers instructions you use a light oil, I use a light spindle oil from Graingers and it works well. Definitely do not use water. Years ago I used shock absorber oil for motorcycles, readily available at any motorcycle shop. It is about 5-7 weight and also worked well.
”Far and away the best prize that life has to offer is the chance to work hard at work worth doing.” Theodore Roosevelt

Offline Long John

• Give me Liberty or give me Death
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2017, 04:20:48 PM »
Gunlock,

On the Chambers locks I have built from a casting set I used diesel fuel as a quench medium.  All the locks spark well.  I did not get good results when I uses SAE 10 oil.

Best Regards,

JMC
John Cholin

Offline flehto

« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2017, 04:56:43 PM »
Have hardened and tempered a few Chambers Siler frizzens and they all functioned well.