Author Topic: 1803 Rifle parts kit  (Read 7736 times)

Database121

1803 Rifle parts kit
« on: August 12, 2017, 03:13:38 AM »
Hey everyone. I'm very new to black powder and muzzle loading, only recently having been introduced to it by a friend also new to it. I've been looking at kits for the 1803 Harper's Ferry rifle as my first build. I'm looking mostly at the offerings from Track of the Wolf and The Rifle Shoppe. I'm wondering if anyone has experience with these specific kits, and what the difficulty of the build would be for a complete novice if I have stuff like the sights and barrel rib installed by the manufacturer (I've built a few ARs but nothing like this). Any advice or assistance the good people of the forum can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
Re: 1803 Rifle parts kit
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2017, 04:01:10 AM »
Take a look at Don Stith's Lewis/Clark rifle kit at donstith.com
Dennis
"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend" - Thomas Jefferson

Offline redheart

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2017, 05:44:51 AM »
I don't believe Don offers the Mod. 1803.
If you're a stickler for detail, get the Rifle Shoppe parts. But be prepared to wait a year or more for them to fill the order.
Otherwise get the TOW kit. It'll be good practice for you. ;D

Offline elk killer

« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2017, 01:04:01 PM »
PM sent
only flintlocks remain interesting..

Offline Bob Roller

« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2017, 01:50:30 PM »
Don Stith is your best chance on this gun.The Rifle Shoppe is way too slow
and seldom has what is needed on the shelf.
ONTARGETS@AOL.COM is Don's Email. He's in Troutville.Va

Bob Roller

Offline Don Stith

« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2017, 03:51:25 PM »
 I appreciate the kind words but I do not offer parts for the 1803 Harpers Ferry halfstock
  The 1792 contract rifle is a fullstock Lancaster rifle