Author Topic: New to the long rifle, new to this forum  (Read 5388 times)

Adam

New to the long rifle, new to this forum
« on: August 15, 2017, 11:39:40 PM »
Hello all.

I am new to the long rifle, its history, the different styles, and everything else.  I am also new to this forum.  I look forward to using the forum as a resource to further guide me to the particular rifle I will one day own, as well as proper loading, shooting, and cleaning techniques. 

I have a lot of learning to do before I purchase a long rifle!  It has been fun learning what little I know so far.  (It has been two weeks since I determined to own one.)

Many thanks in advance for sharing your experience and knowledge. 

Adam

Offline elk killer

Re: New to the long rifle, new to this forum
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2017, 11:40:54 PM »
Where are you located 
only flintlocks remain interesting..

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2017, 11:49:24 PM »
Welcome, Adam!  Good to have you on board.
Andover, Vermont

Adam

« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2017, 11:54:09 PM »
Thanks!

I live in Annville, Pa.  I just heard some guy named JP Beck lived here a while ago...  :)

Adam

« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2017, 12:00:37 AM »
I put my home in the signature, Elk Hunter.  Thanks for your question; I should have done that when I registered.

Offline WadePatton

• Tennessee
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2017, 12:27:33 AM »
Welcome and enjoy the ride.  There are very few topics not hammered thoroughly in the archives, so poke around in there a bit*. That'll raise more questions, but maybe also answer quite a few, and possibly help avoid rekindling a "Hot Topic".  You'll see.  ;)

And a lot of things can be best learned by observation and participation (FTF) so finding the great hordes(!) of other LR enthusiasts in your area can be very helpful. 

I'm down South.