Author Topic: Ways to Stain Antler or Bone?  (Read 13711 times)

Offline tippit

Ways to Stain Antler or Bone?
« on: September 02, 2017, 06:03:00 AM »
Looking for ideas/ways to stain antler or bone for knife handles.

Offline Marcruger

Re: Ways to Stain Antler or Bone?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2017, 07:36:29 PM »
A lot of folks use leather dyes for deep color.  I have heard that the Fiebings is not color fast over time on bone or horn.  For lighter coloration try soaking it in a heavy concentration of tea.  Shoe polish at the end can add color and protection.  I hope this helps.  BTW, I am NO expert!   God Bless,   Marc

Offline Hungry Horse

« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2017, 08:33:46 PM »
Feibing's leather dye will fade from sun exposure. Lincoln's on the other hand doesn't. For the darker brown colors I like the Lincoln medium brown, applied with a dauber, and then immediately wiped with a wet rag, and rubbed until the color is what you want. This works well on antler, but will penintrate too fast on the more porous bone. On bone I use an oil base golden oak wood stain to get that old bone yellowish brown.

Hungry Horse

Offline tippit

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2017, 11:26:34 PM »
Hungry Horse,
Thanks...I'll give that a try.  Your name sounds like my Wyoming Mustang Annie's behavior :)

Offline msellers

« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2017, 06:27:08 AM »
Thinking it might be worth a try for a more period correct dye. McClellan saddles were dyed using vinegar and iron filings to make them black. It might work on bone, would be a cool experiment anyways.

Offline thecapgunkid

• Matthew 25:40
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2017, 02:13:01 PM »
Msellers..."McClellan saddles were dyed using vinegar and iron filings to make them black. It might work on bone, would be a cool experiment anyways".

Be careful about using it on bone.  The discoloration is based on the tanning process of leather.  Bone is too dense.